Community Briefs 7/22/21

Clay Today
Posted 7/21/21

Lakes Region rallies behind boy who needs heart transplantOperation #SageStrong Poker Run set for July 31MELROSE – While Sage Pridemore patiently waits for a life-saving heart, his community is …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for subscribing.

Single day pass

You also have the option of purchasing 24 hours of access, for $1.00. Click here to purchase a single day pass.

Community Briefs 7/22/21


Lakes Region rallies behind boy who needs heart transplant
Operation #SageStrong Poker Run set for July 31

MELROSE – While Sage Pridemore patiently waits for a life-saving heart, his community is moving quickly to raise money and awareness on his behalf.
Pridemore, a 14-year-old student at Keystone Heights Junior High, is at UF Health Shands Children’s Hospital’s Intensive Care Unit in Gainesville waiting for a heart transplant. Meanwhile, the Lakes Region has rallied to show him support.
Called Operation #SageStrong, a day-long program on July 31 will include a Poker Run starting at The Watering Hole at Smith Lake, 5030 County Road 214, in Keystone Heights, and ending at Heritage Park at 300 State Road 26 in Melrose. The event, scheduled from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., includes live music, prizes, balloon artists, face painting and drawings for best poker hand.
“Keep in mind all 100% of all money collected on the run and at the day-long event does directly to Sage’s own bank account,” said poker run organizer Terry Huffman.
“Sometimes you have to step up and be an advocate for somebody. He’s a sick young man, but he has a lot of people sending him love and prayers.”
The cost is $15 for each motorcycle and $5 for additional riders.
To follow Sage, visit his personal blog on Facebook at @SageStrong or click http://www/

Rep. Cammack on Select Committee on Economic Disparity and Fairness In Growth

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy appointed Congresswoman Kat Cammack to serve as a member of the Select Committee on Economic Disparity and Fairness in Growth.
Cammack represents Florida’s 3rd District, which includes Clay County.
"There's no doubt about it, the U.S. is at a turning point. As a member of this select committee, I'm committed to supporting America's workers, families, and our robust economy to provide pro-business solutions that ensure we're prepared for the future," Cammack said. "Capitalism has lifted more people out of poverty than any other economic system in history and it is our duty to continue the commonsense, free-market policies that have propelled us since our nation's founding. Only in America can someone like me go from homeless to the House of Representatives in less than a decade."
"Kat is an obvious choice for this select committee. As the youngest Republican woman in the House, she has spent her time in Congress fighting for policies that will grow the middle class and expand access to the American Dream," McCarthy said. "Together with Rep. Steil and the other Republicans on this committee, she will show Americans how Democrats’ disastrous spending spree has left working families struggling. Whether it is addressing skyrocketing prices or labor shortages, she is prepared to fight for the people that matter most."
"In Florida's Third District, I know that commonsense solutions to the economic issues we face can be achieved to support all of our communities—rural, urban, and suburban alike. I look forward to working with Ranking Member Bryan Steil (WI-01) and my fellow committee members to keep the greatest country on earth moving forward," Cammack said.
Republican members of the select committee include Ranking Member Bryan Steil and Reps. Warren Davidson, Jodey Arrington, Stephanie Bice and Byron Donalds. Democratic members of the select committee include Chair Jim Himes, Marcy Kaptur, Gwen Moore, Vicente Gonzalez, Pramila Jayapal, Angie Craig, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and Sara Jacobs.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here